Kountze, TX and The Big Thicket

Today, we awakened in Kountze at our Super8 motel. This was planned. Today was scheduled to be our “rest” day. But, tomorrow the storm that is raging through Texas is supposed to dump some rain and thunderstorms on us, so we are planning on taking another day, tomorrow. The following day, we have a 3 hour window with fairly low thunderstorm possibility and a 14 mph west wind. We intend to do at least 50 miles in those 3 hours. Anything else we get on Wed, will be icing on the cake.

So, today, I got on my bike and headed toward the Big Thicket Visitor Center. It is just 8 miles from us and it was one of the things on my list of things to see. Once I got to the visitor center, I discovered that the colony of pitcher plants I hoped to see is at least 20 miles from there, the bike trail would be about 30 miles and the nature trail was just 4 miles from the visitor center. I opted for the nature trail because the sky was heavily overcast, and the winds were fairly strong and would be a headwind for the 8 miles back to the motel.

Everything in Kountze is flat. That’s fortunate. I got to the head of the nature trail, and no one was on it. It’s a weekday and I didn’t think people would be beating a path to walk it today, so I may have cycled it. The trail was fairly unremarkable other than it provided me with a lovely day off. I cycled through the woods, on many boardwalks and bridges and through the “swampy” areas. The water in this wetland area is rather clear and the soil light brown. It’s different that the Great Dismal Swamp and surround area that I’m so familiar with and anamored of.

Nothing else remarkable happened to day. Dinner was a seafood platter at Captain Ron’s. The other restaurants closed at 3 pm, unless I wanted Dairy Queen or Sonic. Pictures follow.

I do want to say, “Hi” to Elise and Jean, because I know they will read this, as well as my friends, who comment and encourage me on my way.

Go make your own breeze and remember: if you’re not having fun; you’re in the wrong gear.

About rivercityweaves

I'm a mom, wife and fiber artist, living in rural Virginia. On days I'm not creating fiber art or teaching others how to, I'm probably saddle surfing on my Bianchi, or laughing with friends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Any thoughts?