Plodding it out

212 miles to go. Today is the second day that I just wanted to espy a Enterprise Rent-a-car and drive the remainder of the way. The scenery is nothing special, I’ve chosen to ride the shoulder of hwy 90, which is  a  fairly straight shot to Jacksonville. It’s what I needed to do to get this done within the remaining time.

There is another touring cyclist, heading east closeby. We kept thinking he would catch up and we could companion for a couple days, but he’s got some chafing issues and I hate to say it, but with the funk I’m in, I might be bad company.  A good companion would be great for pulling me out of the funk also, but there are only 4 days left….. if I do 50/day. Today, I’d hoped to do 70, but it’s been dreary and rainy off and on. My motel last night was one of those hideous dives that used to be a cute strip of motel rooms build around a central pool and cafe. It’s not that now. There were bugs crawling the walls, no doorknob on the bathroom door, but a washcloth stuffed into it and an industrial double paper roll hanging lopsidedly off the wall in the bathroom. I’m wondering if I’ll get home only to find I’ve got some tiny inhabitants living on my body from some of these awful motels.

Sorry, off that subject. This afternoon I’m in a small privately-owned strip motel that caters to sportsmen. It’s actually clean and very acceptable. A good book and a cup of coffee will keep me company as I wile away the afternoon.

Wish there were some fun things to tell ya, but I’m just cycling this one out because, if you remember, this all began a year ago, tomorrow. I left home, thinking I’d be on the road almost entirely for one year to memorialize my grand-fathers and to honor my Dad. As you know, it’s turned into a memorial to all 3 of them. I must finish it. Though it’s no longer fun and that’s the reason I tour. It seems that it would be wrong somehow to quit on this after missing Dad’s last few days and hours because I was here. After missing his memorial service. How could I come home now, without finishing?

Four days. Hopefully, no more of them will be downers like today. Setting my sights at 70 miles for today may have been a set-up for discouragement. It made me feel like this is about pushing things, about something other than enjoying the sight-seeing. I’d even like to find a cute shop or two and spend some time shopping. Anything but listening to the traffic whiz by, stopping every 10 miles for another sweet tea, living off cheez-its and franchise salads and fried foods.

Home is looking soooo good. I want to see my husband/best friend. I want to hug my kids and get hugs back. My step-mom needs hugs, and someone to help her sort through Dad’s stuff and help her forget that she is alone right now. I feel like I’m in the wrong place.

Tomorrow will be better.

Please keep me in your prayers for a more cheerful outlook for the next 4 days!

Hope you’re all faring better.

About rivercityweaves

I'm a mom, wife and fiber artist, living in rural Virginia. On days I'm not creating fiber art or teaching others how to, I'm probably saddle surfing on my Bianchi, or laughing with friends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Plodding it out

  1. Larry says:

    Sorry about your Dad. Hang in there – you will regret not finishing at this point. Am a fellow RABA member biking the Southern Tier. We met one time at the Hickory Notch Grill after you came back from North Dakota. Thought I might over take you but biked North off the route at St. francesville and 375 “add on” miles to cross paths with Hugh and Laura Aaron who are on their tandem biking part of the Natchez Trace. Rejoined route today at Bogalusa and am camped at Poplarville. Shooting to finish 14 April. Larry. “Toano”

    • rivercityweaves says:

      You’ve got such a great stretch of cycling ahead of you! The section between Grand Bay and Pensacola was excellent. The beach is lovely, and there is a bike path on Dauphin island (lovely place) and when you go over to the Fort Morgan side, you’ll have hours of cycling in your own dedicated bike lane, with a sleeper lane between you and the traffic. 3 of the next 4 days give us tailwinds. Cycle Joyfully.

  2. tootlepedal says:

    I hope you make it to the end.

    • rivercityweaves says:

      Thanks. With just 4 days to go and only 50-so miles/day, I’m hoping the “attitude” will improve.

      cycling the US one pedal rotation at a time.

  3. Steve says:

    Hang in there. I suggest finding another gear.

    Yuck yuck! I’m hilarious, aren’t I? 🙂

    • rivercityweaves says:

      🙂 bought my train ticket home last night. It’s for next week, as originally planned. Hopefully, I’ve also plotted out the accommodations for the remaining days in hopes of “encouraging” myself. 4 days, 3 with tailwind.

      cycling the US one pedal rotation at a time.

Any thoughts?