Deprogramming and reacclimating

Coming home is a change that requires some alteration in one’s thinking, after an immersion in another way of living. Spending 10 hours a day in the seat of the saddle, or focusing on cycling from point A to Point B solo is such a unique lifestyle, that coming home requires a little de-programming. My toothbrush, deodorant, and wallet, are not necessary ALL attached to my body every moment, so I must remember to use each, at the appropriate moment in the day, and to let it go, when I’m done with it. The reality is, that I’m used to having everything I need, within arms reach 24/7. Obviously, that’s not the way we live when we have a shelter in which to store out goods.

My lifestyle from 4/6-6/1 was that of a nomad. Similarly, all decisions were unilateral while on the road (once the companion left). Now, at home, someone gets to relieve me of some of those decisions;)

Because I’m not cycling 60 miles/day, my caloric intake has had to fall, and that’s a very difficult point to convince my body of. It still wants to maintain the joyride of thousands of calories each day. It is fun to be home, playing in the kitchen, and cycling to the grocery, seeing friends, and definitely, spending time with family!

Now, it’s time to catch up with my friends back home! Ginger, where ARE you (chanted to the rhythms of the old, old TV show “Car 54….. where are you…..?” I’m working on a friend’s beautiful, vintage Murry cruiser;0) and awaiting the arrival of Itzhak, and hoping to get this shoulder pain worked out, so I can ride CELE.

Today, My Dad and I go to see my son. I’ve seen one daughter, and have gotten to talk to the other a good bit. AND, EVERY DAY, I have time with the man I love! It’s good to be back;)

(PSSSSTtttt – I can’t wait to get back on the road, either, though. This time, I’ll take the hubster “with” for a while.)

Go make your own breeze, and remember: if you’re not having fun; you’re in the wrong gear!

Advertisements

About rivercityweaves

I'm a mom, wife and fiber artist, living in rural Virginia. On days I'm not creating fiber art or teaching others how to, I'm probably saddle surfing on my Bianchi, or laughing with friends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Any thoughts?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s