Changes

There is always so much to tell, and usually, we have cycled such a full day, that our minds are reeling with the news, and we only cover a small part of all that has happened in a day.

Yesterday, we awakened after a phenomenal day on Thursday. We anticipated a nice, comfortable day cycling, and perhaps spent a bit of time in the shadow of the day before. It was a lovely day, but it was dreary, and cool. There were some hills, and we were having to pedal for our mileage. So, in comparison, it was a challenge compared to it’s predecessor.  In addition, it was the last day we had a hotel with Jinx and Paul. The last day we had a sag wagon along, so it was a day of “reckoning”. Sifting should be done now, if at all. My cycling companion recognized this, and decided to depart with the SAG wagon, and head home.

My friends, Jinx and Paul, dropped me on the north side of Buffalo, and we all said, “Goodbye” for now. I love Jinx and Paul, and enjoyed our time together tremendously. It was a gift to have the SAG wagon, but also to get to know the two friends better. Excellent.

To my cycling companion, “Cycle joyfully” and “May you engage in a joyous, wonderful, warmer tour in the appropriate time for your schedule! Thanks for the company and the friendship”.

Tonawanda, NY is the hometown of one of my son’s “comrades-in-arms” who gave his life in Afghanistan. My son thought I might stop in, and meet the wife and family, see the street named after this wonderful man, and find out that the family is healing. Although I was unable to reach them, I did find the USMC veterans memorial in Tonawanda, and found “Mundo’s” marker. It was too emotional for me to leave my friends, companion, and deal with the fact that my son has suffered such a large loss in his young life. I cried.

After visiting the memorial, I cycled onward to Niagara Falls, NY, and then crossed into Canada (I have now cycled to “foreign lands”). I have a comfortable hotel room, and will hunker down here, visit an Easter service in the morning, and enjoy a day of rest before heading west, and south toward Chicago.

Go make your own breeze and remember: if you’re not having fun; you’re in the wrong gear.

About rivercityweaves

I'm a mom, wife and fiber artist, living in rural Virginia. On days I'm not creating fiber art or teaching others how to, I'm probably saddle surfing on my Bianchi, or laughing with friends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Changes

  1. Steve says:

    Thank you for taking the time to recognize a vet. I hope you enjoyed the falls. I’ve stood on the bridge where you are pictured. Magnificent, isn’t it?

    Congratulations on reaching this milestone. You’ve already weathered many obstacles and had several unexpected turns. I can only imagine what the future holds for you – good things certainly, but exactly how it will unfold will be fascinating!

Any thoughts?